- Municipal Court
- Driving Safety Courses
Driving Safety Courses
Requirements to Take Driving Safety Course
If you received a ticket for a moving violation, you may request permission to take a Driving Safety Course (DSC) on to before the court date, by dropbox, by email, by mail or in-person.
At the time of the request, you must do the following:
- Enter a plea of Guilty or No Contest
- Present a valid Texas driver's license
- Present any proof of financial responsibility (auto insurance) listing you as a driver
- Fill out the Drivers Safety Course Affidavit (PDF) and have it notarized or signed by the Court Clerk
- Pay the applicable state costs, and an administrative fee of $144 or $169 if the offense occurred in a school zone. All costs and fees are subject to change without notice.
When you are not eligible to request a Driving Safety Course:
- You received a ticket for speeding 25 mph over the posted speed limit
- The offense occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- The office was for unlawfully passing a school bus
- The offense was for leaving the scene of an accident
- You have or held a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) at the time of the offense
- If you have taken a Driver Safety Course (DSC) within the 12 months before the date of this citation, or you are currently required to take a DSC for another citation.
What to Do Next
On or before the court date, bring or mail the listed items to the court, and upon approval, the court will grant you permission to take the course.
You will have 90 days to complete the course and obtain a certified copy of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety in Austin. Both documents, the course completion certificate and the certified copy of your driving record, must be returned to the court on or before the 90th day to have your citation dismissed.
Where You Can Take a Driving Safety Course
You may search for driving safety courses online or in the yellow pages. The course must be an approved course for the dismissal of a traffic citation in the State of Texas.
Failure to Complete a Driving Safety Course
If you fail to complete any one of the requirements by your due date, you will need to attend your show cause hearing. If you fail to appear at the hearing, a conviction on your case will be imposed and payment will be due immediately.
If payment is not made immediately or an appeal bond filed, a capias pro fine warrant with a $50 warrant fee will be issued, and an additional $15 time payment fee will be added.
Items to Bring
If you are going to request that the judge allow you to take the Driving Safety Course (DSC), please bring the following items with you to court:
- $144 (court costs) for offenses not committed in a school zone; $169 for eligible offenses occurring within a school zone
- Proof of insurance
- Valid Texas Driver's License
Alcohol & Tobacco Awareness
One of the state-mandated requirements for all juveniles and minors who receive alcohol or tobacco violations is to take a state-certified awareness course.
To find the locations to take your particular course, visit the Texas Health and Human Services website.
Tobacco & Alcohol Offenses
If you are 17 years of age and have been issued a citation for Possession of a Tobacco Product, you are required by state law to appear and enter a plea before a Municipal Court Judge. It is your responsibility to come to an open docket court date. If this is not done, or you do not appear, warrants may be issued for your arrest.
If you are 17 to 20 years of age or younger and have been issued a citation for an alcohol violation (i.e. Minor Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Minor in Possession, Minor in Consumption, Public Intoxication) you are required by state law to appear and enter a plea before a Municipal Court Judge. It is your responsibility to come to an open docket court date. If this is not done, or you do not appear, warrants may be issued for your arrest.
All other violations may be handled according to the information on your citation. If you have questions, please contact the court.