Mayor & City Council

The City of Melissa is a home rule city governed by a Council-Manager form of government in which the City Council establishes City policy through ordinances and resolutions, and the City Manager carries out City policy and is responsible for City operations.  The first Home Rule Charter was adopted by the citizens of Melissa in  November 2011.  

Melissa's City Council is made up of the mayor and six council members who are elected at large, which means they represent the entire city, and all registered voters may vote for all seven places. The Mayor is a voting member and all members serve three-year terms. City Council elections are staggered and are usually on the first Saturday in May of each year.  Following each election, the Council selects a fellow Council member to serve as Mayor pro tem.  

City Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at the Melissa City Hall, 3411 Barker Avenue, Melissa, Texas beginning at 6:00 p.m. (Work Sessions often held at 5:15 p.m. on an as needed basis). 

For information about how to place an item on the agenda, please contact the City Secretary.

Mail for the Mayor and City Council can be addressed to:

3411 Barker Avenue
Melissa, TX 75454-9501
Call (972) 838-2520
Fax (972) 837-2452

Melissa  City Council 2018-19

Reed Greer
Term Expires:
May 2019
IMG_5308-8x10_Stacy Jackson
Place 1
Stacy Jackson
Term Expires: May 2021
Place 2
Chad Taylor
Term Expires: May 2019
Place 3
Nicco Warren
Term Expires: May 2021
Jay for city
Mayor Pro-tem (Place 4)
Jay Northcut
Term Expires: May 2019
 Craig Ackerman-IMG_8579e-8x10
Place 5
Craig Ackerman
Term Expires: May 2021
Sweat Seated at Dais
Place 6
Shannon Sweat
Term Expires: May 2021