logo banner top banner right
menu left menu right
inside left header
inside left buttom
inside right header
HomeDEPARTMENTS > Police Department

The Melissa Police DepartmentCoin Transparent

The Melissa Police Department, in serving the citizens of Melissa, strives to reduce crime and keep Melissa one of the safest cities in Collin County. It is our goal to help people and provide assistance at every opportunity, to increase citizen satisfaction with public safety and obtain community cooperation through the Department's training, skills, and efforts. We realize that the Police Department alone cannot control crime, but must act in concert with the community and the rest of the Criminal Justice System.

The City of Melissa is unique in that in addition to the citizens who reside in the community, police services are provided to over 40,000 commuters on a daily basis due to its’ three major highways which span the city’s jurisdiction.

The Department is committed to keeping our citizens and streets safe by building partnerships with our community working together in such efforts as National Night Out, strictly enforcing traffic laws, and responding to and investigating other major/minor crimes.

It is our commitment to keep the City of Melissa one of the safest cities in Collin County and I welcome your assistance in achieving this goal.   

The Chief of Police is Duane Smith

TPCA REcognized Logo Location:
3411 Barker Avenue
Melissa, TX 75454-9501
(972) 838-2033 (forwards to dispatch after hours)
Collin County Dispatch: (972) 547-5350
Our Staff: 
 Roger Thornhill Assistant Chief
 Michael Groettum
 Clint Powell Sergeant
 Molly Norton Police Services Officer
 Michael Hagood Crime Prevention Officer

Office hours are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Non-emergency Police Tip Line: 972-838-2075

In the event of an emergency always dial 9-1-1


inside right buttom